Hubble Fellowship News

Ron Allen,


The Hubble Fellowship Program awards postdoctoral fellowships to candidates of exceptional research promise in astronomy and astrophysics. The program has been in existence for 22 years, and its recipients can now be found among the ranks of the faculty at college and university campuses and the professional staff of research institutions across the nation and beyond. Many recipients participated in the recent Decadal Survey of Astronomy and Astrophysics.

The scientific scope of the program includes goals addressed by any of the missions in NASA’s Cosmic Origins Program. These missions presently include: Hubble Space Telescope, Spitzer Space Telescope, Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy, Herschel Space Observatory, and James Webb Space Telescope. The program is funded by NASA and managed by the Institute. It is open to applicants of any nationality.

Fellows choose their host institution anywhere in the U.S., subject to a maximum of one new fellow per institution per year. The duration of the fellowship is up to three years. More details are available here.


Selection of the 2012 Hubble Fellows

The 2012 Hubble Fellow Selection Committee met at the Institute on January 19–20, 2012, to consider the 278 applications received by the deadline of November 3, 2011. Prof. Raja Guhathakurta (UC Santa Cruz) chaired the 15-member committee of expert researchers from the astronomical community. The selection criteria, as always, were based primarily on the scientific excellence of the research proposals. The high quality of the applicant pool made it difficult for the committee to single out the most outstanding candidates. Offers were made to short-listed candidates in early February. The new Hubble Fellows (see Table 1) are set to take up their fellowships in the fall of 2012.