Hubble Fellowship News

Ron Allen,

The Hubble Fellowship Program provides postdoctoral fellowships to candidates of exceptional research promise. The program includes the scientific goals addressed by any of the missions in NASA’s Cosmic Origins Program. These missions presently include: the Hubble Space Telescope, Spitzer Space Telescope, Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy, the Herschel Space Observatory, and the James Webb Space Telescope. This program is funded by NASA and is open to applicants of any nationality. The fellowships are tenable at U.S. host institutions of the fellows’ choice, subject to a maximum of one new fellow per host institution per year. The duration of the fellowship is up to three years. More details are available at the Fellowship web site.

Selection of the 2010 Hubble Fellows

The 2010 Hubble Fellow Selection Committee met at the Institute on January 11–12 to consider the 236 applications that were received by the deadline of November 5, 2009. The selection criteria remained the same as in the past. The number of Hubble Fellowships to be awarded for 2010 remained at 17. The 15-member committee was chaired by Prof. Marc Pinsonneault (Ohio State University). Offers were made, and by mid-February the list of 2010 Hubble Fellows was complete; see Table 1. They will take up their new fellowships in the fall of 2010.